Board of Directors


    Rafael del Pino

    Executive and Proprietary. Executive Committee

    Civil Engineer (Polytechnic University of Madrid, 1981). MBA (Sloan School of Management, MIT, 1986). Chairman of Ferrovial since 2000 and CEO since 1992. Chairman of Cintra from 1998 to 2009. Member of the MIT Corporation, IESE’s International Advisory Board, the MIT Energy Initiative’s External Advisory Board and the MIT Sloan European Advisory Board, and the Harvard Business School European Advisory Board. He is also a member of the Royal Academy of Engineering of Spain. He has been Director of Zurich Insurance Group, Banesto and Uralita.


    Santiago Bergareche

    External Director. Executive Committee and Appointments and Remunerations Committee

    Degree in Economics and Law (Universidad Comercial de Deusto). 1st Vice-Chairman of Ferrovial and member of the Board of Directors since 1999. Joined Ferrovial in 1995 as Chairman of Agroman. In February 1999, after the merger of Ferrovial and Agroman, appointed CEO of Ferrovial. Chairman of Vocento; Vice-Chairman of Alantra Partners; Director of Maxam Corp Holding and Deusto Business School; Trustee of the Foundation Casa Ducal de Medinaceli. Former Managing Director of Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria (BBVA); Chairman of Metrovacesa and Cepsa.


    Joaquín Ayuso

    External Director. Executive Committee

    Degree in Civil Engineering (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid). 2nd Vice-Chairman of Ferrovial and member of the Board of Directors since 2002. Chairman of the Board of Directors of Autopista del Sol. Joined Ferrovial in 1982. Managing Director of Construction since 1992, CEO of Ferrovial Agroman (1999-2002), CEO of Ferrovial (2002-2009), executive Vice-Chairman of Ferrovial (2009-2012) and Vice-Chairman of Cintra (2002-2009). Former Director of BAA (UK), Budimex (Poland) and 407 ETR (Canada). Director of Bankia, National Express Group (UK) and Hispania Activos Inmobiliarios. Member of the Advisory Boards of “Benjamin Franklin” Institute at the University of Alcalá de Henares, TRANSYT (Transport Investigation Center of the School of Civil Engineering) and A.T. Kearney for Spain, as well as the Board of Círculo de Empresarios.

  • CEO

    Íñigo Meirás

    Executive Director. Executive Committee

    Degree in Law (Universidad Complutense de Madrid); MBA (IE Business School). CEO of Ferrovial since 2009. Joined Ferrovial in 1992; former Managing Director of Autopista del Sol and Director of Toll Roads at Cintra. CEO of Ferrovial Services from 2000 to 2007; later appointed CEO of Ferrovial Airports. Previously worked at Holcim Group and Carrefour Group.


    Juan Arena

    External Director. Audit and Control Committee

    PhD in Industrial Engineering (ICAI), Degree in Business Administration (ICADE), Degree in Psychology, Diploma in Tax Studies and AMP (Harvard Business School). Director of Ferrovial since 2000. Director of Laboratorios Almirall and Meliá Hotels International; Chairman of the Advisory Board of Consulnor and the Professional Council of ESADE; member of the International Advisory Board of Everis and the Advisory Boards of Marsh and Panda; Director of Deusto Business School and member of the World Advisory Board of Harvard Business School; member of the Executive Committee of SERES Foundation and Chairman of its Governance Committee. Former CEO and Executive Chairman of Bankinter; Director of UBS Spain, TPI, Everis, Panda, Dinamia and Prisa; member of the Board of Trustees of ESADE and member of the Advisory Board of Spencer Stuart; professor in Harvard Business School and IESE.

    María del Pino

    External Proprietary Director. Executive Committee

    Degree in Economics and Business Administration (Universidad Complutense de Madrid); Management Development Program (IESE). Director of Ferrovial since 2006. Chairman of the Rafael del Pino Foundation. Rotating Chairman / Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors of Casa Grande de Cartagena, S.L.U. Member of the Board of Trustees of the Princess of Asturias. Trustee of the Codespa Foundation. Former member of the Governing Board of the Asociación para el Progreso de la Dirección and trustee of the Fundación Científica de la Asociación Española contra el Cáncer.

    Santiago Fernández Valbuena

    External Independent Director. Appointments and Remunerations Committee and Audit and Control Committee

    Degree in Economics (Universidad Complutense de Madrid); PhD and Master’s Degree in Economics (Northeastern University, Boston). Director of Ferrovial since 2008. Vice-Chairman of EBN Banco de Negocios. Former Chairman of Telefónica Latinoamérica; Director and Chief Strategy, Finance and Corporate Development Officer at Telefónica; Managing Director of Société Générale Valores and Head of Equities at Beta Capital; Professor of Applied Economics at the Universidad Complutense and Professor at IE Business School.

    José Fernando Sánchez-Junco

    External Independent Director. Lead Director. Executive Committee and Appointments and Remunerations Committee

    Degree in Industrial Engineering (Universidad Politécnica de Barcelona). ISMP Graduate at Harvard Business School. Member of the State Corps of Industrial Engineers. Director of Ferrovial since 2009. Director of Cintra from 2004 to 2009. Chairman and CEO of Maxam Group. Former Managing Director of Industrias Siderometalúrgicas y Navales and Managing Director of Industry at the Ministry of Industry and Energy.

    Joaquín del Pino

    External Proprietary Director

    Degree in Economics and Business Administration; MBA (IESE). Director of Ferrovial since 2015 (and has represented the Director Karlovy, S.L. of Ferrovial since 2010, reelected in 2013). Rotating Chairman / Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors of Casa Grande de Cartagena, S.L.U.; legal representative of Soziancor, S.L.U., Chairman of the Board of Directors of Pactio Gestión, SGIIC, S.A.U.; and Trustee of the Rafael del Pino Foundation and the Plan España Foundation. Former Director of Banco Pastor.

    Óscar Fanjul Martín

    External Independent Director. Executive Committee and Audit and Control Committee

    Professor of Economic Theory on leave of absence. Director of Ferrovial since 2015. Vice-Chairman of Omega Capital; Director of LafargeHolcim and Marsh & McLennan Companies; Trustee of the Foundation of Friends of the Prado Museum, of the Center for Monetary and Financial Studies, (Bank of Spain) and of the Aspen Institute (Spain). Former founding Chairman and CEO of Repsol; Chairman of Hidroeléctrica del Cantábrico; non-executive Chairman of NH Hoteles and Deoleo; Director of Acerinox, Unilever, BBVA, London Stock Exchange and Areva.

    Philip Bowman

    External Independent Director

    Degree with honors in Natural Science (University of Cambridge); Master in Natural Science (University of Cambridge); Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales. Director of Ferrovial since 2016. Chairman of The Miller Home Group (UK) Ltd. and of Majid Al Futtaim Properties LLC; Senior Independent Director of Burberry Group; Director of Better Capital. Former Chairman of Coral Eurobet and Liberty; CEO of Smiths Group, Scottish Power and Allied Domecq; Director of Berry Bros. & Rudd, Scottish & Newcastle Group, Bass, British Sky Broadcasting Group and Coles Myer.


    Santiago Ortiz Vaamonde

    Spanish State Attorney; PhD in Law (Universidad Complutense de Madrid). General Counsel and Secretary of the Board of Directors of Ferrovial since 2009. Former partner at Cuatrecasas and Ramón y Cajal law firms, in charge of Trial Law and Public and Regulatory Law; Agent of the Kingdom of Spain before the Court of Justice of the European Union; professor at the Diplomatic School and the Carlos III University.